A blog about cooking experiences/experiments

I don’t know much about cooking. I watch a lot of tv shows about it, though. Iron Chef, Top Chef, Masterchef, Hell’s Kitchen, Chopped, The Next Food Network Star… As most people who watch these shows, I’d like to believe I have picked up a few things here and there. I’m probably wrong, but never mind that.

The fact is I’ve been trying to cook a lot as of recently, and I’m eager to learn. I’ve also been trying to eat healthier. Altogether, that means that I’ve been attempting to cook a lot of vegetables and lean proteins, while trying to avoid empty carbs, processed foods, gluten and grain. I’ve also quit soda (six weeks and counting…), which is a huge step for me.

However, I’m not an all-or-nothing kind of gal. I believe in balance. So I do still eat a lot of these things. I absolutely can’t get rid of yogurt and dark chocolate, for example. And I would never completely give up rice and bread, but I have drastically reduced the consumption of these items over the past couple of months.

So the idea here is just to post some of the things I’ve tried to make or that I’ve eaten somewhere. In principle I would just love to have some sort of recipe collection for myself, and that’s what this is. But maybe other people will enjoy it and help me by giving advice, sharing recipes, etc. All input is welcome!

 

Leave a Reply

