Chocolate covered… everything

 

I made these a while ago, but I guess I feel it’s appropriate to post them tonight because of all the halloween candy going around. Oh also I did make some chocolate covered apple slices last night…

Not much explanation required, right?

Well maybe I am just plain dumb, but the first time I tried to melt chocolate, it completely backfired and I ended up with this huge burnt blob and an unfulfilled desire for sugary goods. Here were my mistakes: first, I tried to melt to much chocolate at once. You really don’t need a whole lot of chocolate when you are making this kind of thing for only two people. Second, when you take the chocolate out of the microwave (after just 30 seconds), it doesn’t LOOK like it melted at all – but don’t put it back in! Just mix it with a spoon, and the chocolate chips start dissolving in plain eye sight! – so so easy.

And the real secret… people are so stuck with this ‘chocolate covered strawberry’ tradition… but basically ANY fruit tastes good with chocolate. In Brazil, chocolate covered grapes are quite common and amazingly tasty. I really really like apples and chocolate, specially if you have some nuts to sprinkle over it. But honestly, it goes well it bananas, berries, grapes… alright, maybe it wouldn’t go so well it mango or kiwi, but mostly anything.

Oh and use dark or semi-sweet chocolate. It’s just better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

